MARKETING PROCESSES & PLANNING
APRIL 16, 2022
Contents
Introduction:..............................................................................................................................................2
LO: 1...........................................................................................................................................................2
Marketing, Marketing Operations and Role of Marketing:...............................................................2
Marketing function relating to wider organizational context:...........................................................3
Role of marketing in context of marketing environment:..................................................................3
Interrelationship between marketing and other functional units of organization:...........................3
Internal & External environment in which marketing functions operate:.......................................4
Impact of Internal Environment:.....................................................................................................4
Impact of External Environment:....................................................................................................5
LO: 2...........................................................................................................................................................7
Marketing Mix of Coconut Bliss in comparison with McDonalds:....................................................7
Strategies and Tactical approaches used by organizations to achieve business objectives:.............8
LO: 3 & LO: 4...........................................................................................................................................9
Marketing Plan:.....................................................................................................................................9
Mission:..............................................................................................................................................9
SMART Objectives:..........................................................................................................................9
Corporate Strategy:...........................................................................................................................9
Situational Analysis:........................................................................................................................10
Marketing Strategies:......................................................................................................................12
Marketing Budget:..........................................................................................................................12
Control & Monitoring Measures:...................................................................................................13
Media Budget:..................................................................................................................................14
Recommendation & Rationale of selecting multi media activities:..............................................14
References:...............................................................................................................................................15
Introduction:
Marketing is an important tool that is used by the organizations to understand the market
requirements and demands of customers and provide quality and value to the customers. The
business that would be depicted in this organization is “Coconut Bliss”. It is a food based
company with a consumer based approach. This report would discuss the marketing essentials in
organizations. The interrelation of marketing functions with other business functions would also
be highlighted. Marketing mix of coconut bliss would also be made which would be helpful in
achieving the goals and objectives of business. In the end, marketing and media plan of coconut
bliss would also be made.
LO: 1
Marketing, Marketing Operations and Role of Marketing:
“Marketing is the management process responsible for identifying, anticipating and satisfying
customer requirements profitably.” The Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM). Different
marketing strategies are used by the company in order to fulfill the needs of customers. They aim
at creating a long term business value with an approach of customer driven marketing.
There are different functions and roles of marketing. Marketing functions identify the customer
requirements and look for ways in which they can fulfil the demands in ways in which profits
can be maximized (Ferrell, Hartline and Hochstein, 2021). The key roles of marketing functions
are as follows:
Identifying the requirements of Customers
Anticipating requirements of customers
Satisfying needs of customers
Maximizing profits
The role of marketing for coconut bliss helps in refining the corporate goals and marketing
objectives for the company. These objectives help in minimizing the cost and maximizing the
profits and growth rate. Corporate objectives help in measuring the marketing objectives. For
example, marketing objectives would be helpful in introducing new ice cream variants and
flavors. The marketing function of coconut bliss helps in growing the market share and target
areas.it also helps to analyse the demand and supply of products as a whole (Morgan et al.,
2019).
Marketing function relating to wider organizational context:
The marketing function of coconut bliss is same for B2B and B2C. it includes advertising, direct
marketing, public relations (PR), word of mouth, digital marketing etc. at coconut bliss, the main
function of the company is to ensure the coordination of marketing functions with other
functions in order to have good marketing strategy (Varadarjan, 2020). The interrelationship
between different business functions would help in making an effective marketing strategy which
would be able to cater to the needs of the customers.
Role of marketing in context of marketing environment:
Considering the marketing environment of coconut bliss, the marketing function of the company
is focused towards making a marketing plan and meeting the needs of changing tastes of
customers. The marketing plan should be according to the rules and regulations of the country.
The taste of the products should be according to the liking of the customers (Mothernaugh et al.,
2020). Process should be set by keeping in mind the buying power of customers, and should be
compatible with market prices. it is important to comply with ISO 22000 standards. In the
marketing environment, it is also very important for coconut bliss to analyse the changing needs
and preferences of the customers. The product design should be according to the needs of the
customers. The marketing process of coconut bliss would be focused on suing the marketing
tools which would help in advertising and promoting the product to the targeted market. The
outlets of coconut bliss are located on the busy streets and downtowns where it is easy for the
customers to reach the products and vice versa.
Interrelationship between marketing and other functional units of organization:
Marketing and Finance:
Budget is required for making designing and operationalizing the marketing strategies and
functions. It is important to analyse the cost benefit analysis and profit margin of the brand.
The finance function at coconut bliss would provide the marketing function with the defined
budget and cost related information under which they need to run the marketing campaign. It
is important for these two functions to stay inter related to know the current financial position
so that marketing activities could be carried out effectively.
Marketing and Human Resources:
The link of these two functions would help coconut bliss to fill in the vacancies with right
people at the right time. It would also be ensured that the employees should be given proper
training so that they can address the challenging market conditions. HR department would be
providing the performance feedback of employees to the marketing department to evaluate
the performance and if targets are achieved. It would also be ensured that goals of employees
should be in line with goals of the organization.
Marketing and Production & Operations:
Marketing department along with production department and operations department would
ensure that the new flavor of the ice cream is satisfying the taste buds of customers. These
departments would research on adding new flavors. Marketing function along with
operations functions would see if company goals are aligned with marketing goals. It would
also be ensured that marketing plan should be sufficient for operations and production
schedule.
Marketing and Customer Services:
These functions would work together to assess the satisfaction level of customers with
products and services. The customer services department would communicate the feedback
of customers to marketing department, which would be helpful in designing new products.
Marketing and IT:
These two departments would work together to achieve company goals and marketing goals
in best way. IT department would work with marketing department to ensure that marketing
practices should be equipped with technological advancements and current needs of market.
Internal & External environment in which marketing functions operate:
Impact of Internal Environment:
Analysis of internal environment would help in formulating an effective marketing plan.
Strengths:
Basic strength is the taste and flavor of ice creams which are according to the taste buds of
USA customers.
Location sis an outstanding feature. It is located in busy streets and downtown to grab the
attention of maximum customers all the times.
Weaknesses:
Small number of outlets
Limited product offerings
Opportunities:
Include new range of products other than ice creams to meet the needs of customers
belonging to different geographical and cultural backgrounds.
Expanding business in different parts of USA and also in international markets.
Threats:
Rapid increase in number of competitors
Increase in health consciousness of customers – switching towards healthy food options.
Impact of External Environment:
Political:
Stability in political environment and government support to local businesses would help
coconut bliss to operate successfully in the market.
Economic:
Increase in GDP, buying power and employment rates would help in increasing overall sales.
Social:
USA is multi-cultural country and full of tourists. Company would give products as per the taste
buds of the people.
Technological:
Good technology usage would help to operate successfully in the competitive environment.
Different machines would be used which would bring out ice cream scoops in different shapes.
Legal:
Legal environment supports the business operations. ISO 22000 needs to be followed to maintain
the quality.
Environmental:
The business flourished in spring and summer season when the weather is hot and calls for
having something cold and tasty.
LO: 2
Marketing Mix of Coconut Bliss in comparison with McDonalds:
The marketing mix through 7Ps of both organizations are explained in the following table.
7Ps Coconut Bliss McDonalds
Product Coconut bliss is known for their only Being the leading fast food chain in the
product ice creams. Their ice creams world. They have wide variety of
come in variety of tastes and flavors. products which include burgers, French
Moreover, their ice creams are also fires, fired chicken, nuggets, coffee,
available in different variants like shakes, juices, sundaes etc. Its products
organic, vegan and gluten free. vary according to tastes of people.
Price Cost leadership strategy is used. The They provide products to customers at
shops are located in Eugene, Oregon. competitive market rate. However, they
The prices are competitive yet also use different pricing strategies like
affordable. Different variants, flavors value pricing, going rate etc.
and sizes have different prices.
Place It is located in Eugene, Oregon. McDonalds is present in 38000 different
Shops are located in busy streets and locations in more than 100 countries
down towns to grab the attention of across the world.
customers.
Promotion The promotion is done through Creative advertisements are made and
traditional media and digital media. run on TV, newspaper and magazines.
Advertisements are run on radio, TV, Digital media is also used as
newspaper and magazines. The promotional tool.
company also gives discount
coupons to customers on bulk
purchases.
People The people working at coconut bliss It is one of the biggest employer.
are also given trainings. Employees Employees are expected to follow
are kept satisfied through good standard operating procedures to deal
compensation and reward packages.
with customers.
Process Delivery services are also provided They have different processes to deliver
to the customers. Loyal customers products to customers. More emphasis
are given golden cards which given is on timely food preparation and food
extra 10% discount on all products. delivery processes. Processes are made
This helps in attracting more transparent for the customers.
customers.
Physical The need to have functions to attract More focus in on physical aspects.
Evidence the customers. They can have Clean atmosphere is provided to
attractive interiors with clean customers in store.
hygiene at outlets.
Strategies and Tactical approaches used by organizations to achieve business
objectives:
Different organizations use different strategies and tactical approaches to achieve the business
objectives and make a place in the market. These market tactics not only help the organizations
to increase the customer base and market share but all the building a strong brand image in
minds of customers by gaining new customers and retaining the existing ones (Li, Larimo and
Leonidou, 2021).
In case of coconut bliss, it has been observed that marketing tactic is based on work of mouth
and traditional marketing practices. Flyers are distributed in nearby areas and adjacent drug
stores. Banners and standees are also placed. Social media platforms are also used by them for
marketing purposes however, more focus is on traditional marketing practices. It is therefore
recommended, that they should focus on digital marketing and social media marketing in order
to increase the product awareness in wide range of customers (Katsikeas, Leonidou and Zeriti,
2019).
McDonalds on the other hand, is a well-known brand. They use all kinds of marketing
techniques like traditional marketing, digital marketing, word of mouth, diversity marketing etc.
Their products and marketing style varies from country to country. Following all these marketing
strategies requires huge sum of money but McDonalds affords it and thus increases its customer
base and market share in different parts of the world.
LO: 3 & LO: 4
Marketing Plan:
Mission:
“To satisfy and fulfil the sweet desires of the customers in affordable price.”
SMART Objectives:
To increase the sales and market share by 10%.
To increase the overall revenue by the end of year by 15%.
To increase the variety of products offered
Bring in new flavors
Bring in new variants (Vegan, gluten free etc.)
Corporate Strategy:
In order for coconut bliss to achieve the business objectives, they need to have the following
corporate strategy.
Allocation of Resources:
In order to increase overall sales, they need to hire people who are skilled and competent.
Capital should be allocated wisely (Ali and Anwar, 2021).
Organizational Design:
Organizational design should be readjusted to achieve the business objectives. Business
functions should be centralized to increase decision making to introducing new and
diversified products (Soegoto and Utomo, 2019). Proper reporting structure should be
incorporated in marketing area to make it center of excellence.
Portfolio Management:
Product diversification is required to cater people with different taste and requirements.
Diverse products should be introduced like ice cream shakes, ice cream cakes, ice cream
served with hot brownies and molten lava cakes etc.
Strategic Trade-offs:
Product diversification strategy would be helpful in managing risk and increasing sales
(Olson et al., 2018).
Situational Analysis:
5C Analysis:
Company: The company culture supports innovation. Product innovation and creative ideas
are supported to introduce new products in the market. Good quality products are sold to
customers are reasonable prices (Chernev, 2021).
Customers: Both high end and low end market segments are targeted. Customers belong to
every age group as ice cream is equally enjoyed by both adults and children. Frequency of
purchase is high in summers and spring season.
Competitors: Although competitors are existing in the market, yet coconut bliss in able to
maintain the customer base by selling different, unique and luxurious product line of organic,
vegan and gluten free ice creams.
Collaborators: Flexible supply chain has made collaboration easier.
Climates: Inflation and unemployment have strong impact on pricing structure (Opresnik,
2018). Increase in health consciousness in customers can pose a risk to the company.
SWOT:
Strengths:
Basic strength is the taste and flavor of ice creams which are according to the taste buds of
USA customers.
Location sis an outstanding feature. It is located in busy streets and downtown to grab the
attention of maximum customers all the times.
Weaknesses:
Small number of outlets
Limited product offerings
Opportunities:
Include new range of products other than ice creams to meet the needs of customers
belonging to different geographical and cultural backgrounds.
Expanding business in different parts of USA and also in international markets.
Threats:
Rapid increase in number of competitors
Increase in health consciousness of customers – switching towards healthy food options.
PESTLE:
Political:
Stability in political environment and government support to local businesses would help
coconut bliss to operate successfully in the market.
Economic:
Increase in GDP, buying power and employment rates would help in increasing overall sales.
Social:
USA is multi-cultural country and full of tourists. Company would give products as per the taste
buds of the people.
Technological:
Good technology usage would help to operate successfully in the competitive environment.
Different machines would be used which would bring out ice cream scoops in different shapes.
Legal:
Legal environment supports the business operations. ISO 22000 needs to be followed to maintain
the quality.
Environmental:
The business flourished in spring and summer season when the weather is hot and calls for
having something cold and tasty.
Marketing Strategies:
Target market includes people of all age groups living in USA and belonging to different cultural
backgrounds. It also includes tourists. Knowing the target market, the marketing mix would be
designed as follows.
Price: Competitive prices should be set. Prices of luxury products like organic, vegan and
gluten free ice creams should be slightly higher than rest of the products.
Place: Increase presence in busy markets where customers can be approached easily.
Promotion: Main focus should be on social media marketing as it is more effective and
helps in achieving business objectives in less time.
Product: Diversifying product range. Introducing luxurious product line which would have
organic, vegan and gluten free ice creams.
Physical Evidence: Increase the presence in different cities across USA. Increase product
offerings to meet marketing objectives.
People: Competent and skilled workforce to be hired. This increases value in product
offerings.
Process: Standard operating procedure to enhance quality and meet market needs.
Marketing Budget:
Digital Marketing $4000
SEO $ 300
Pay-Per-Click Marketing $ 300
Search Engine Ads $ 300
Display Retargeting $ 300
CPC / CPM $ 300
Meta Search $ 300
Social Media $ 450
Email $ 450
Paid Linking $ 400
Local Search $ 300
Local Marketing $ 300
Content Marketing $ 300
Investments / Operations / Consulting $ 3000
Account Management $ 500
Project Management $ 500
Web Development $ 500
Web Content $ 500
Web Analytics $ 1000
Campaigns $ 3000
Promotions $ 1000
Premiums $ 1000
Display $ 1000
Total $ 10,000
Control & Monitoring Measures:
Return on Marketing Investment (ROMI)
= (Marketing Income – Marketing expenses) *100
(Marketing Expenses)
= ($10,000 - $5000) *100
$5000
= 100%
Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
= Average annual revenue per customer * Average lifespan of customer
= $1000 * 5
= $5000
Media Budget:
Owned Media (Blog) $ 500
Video Advertising (You Tube) $ 800
Social Media Advertising (Facebook) $ 800
Marketing Platform (Hub Spot) $ 400
Creative/Design Software (TBD) $ 1000
Instagram Advertising $ 750
Designing online campaigns $ 750
Total $5000
Recommendation & Rationale of selecting multi media activities:
Digital media marketing and multimedia activities are considered more authentic and effective in
communicating the intended message of the company to the customers (Fayed, 2021). This helps
in increasing the revenues and profits of the company along with customer base, market share
and growth rate. It is recommended for coconut bliss to use social media marketing to achieve
the marketing goals and objectives. It improves brand awareness and is considered as most cost
effective marketing technique (Dimitrescu et al., 2018). Brand recognition increases and
customer traffic increases. It brings in more customers engaging with the brand and its offerings.
Search engine rankings also get improved. Through social media marketing and digital
marketing, not only customer base increases but customer loyalty also increases. Customer
satisfaction and brand loyalty go hand in hand (Zephaniah, Ogba and Izogo, 2020). Customer
engagement is therefore very important. Customers directly communicate with the business
through social media. They put forward their concerns and give feedback as well (Kim, Kang
and Lee, 2021). Millennials are considered as the most loyal customers of all times. When
customers see companies doing social media advertising, replying to customers; they consider it
more credible and authentic. When business interact with customers on regular basis, it gives an
impression that business cares for customers. When customers would be having positive
experiences, they would be vocal about their good experience. They then do the advertising the
company by spreading positive word of mouth. On the basis of both qualitative and quantitative
criteria, multimedia plan is considered effective. As the return on marketing investment is 100%
and Customer lifetime value is $5000. The proposed multimedia plan is therefore considered
justified as all the goals and objectives are met.
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