SMM Highlighted Notes
SMM Highlighted Notes
BS33008FP
2023 Revision 3
Contents
Unit 1: DETERMINE MARKETING REQUIREMENTS ........................................................................... 2
1. Needs and Wants ........................................................................................................................ 2
2. The 4Ps of Marketing .................................................................................................................. 5
3. Describe the key steps of the marketing process for a business .............................................. 10
4. Describe the purpose and features of distribution channels ................................................... 18
5. Outline the promotional mix .................................................................................................... 20
6. Describe the types of traditional marketing strategy (audience, marketing objectives, media).... 24
Needs 1
A need is something necessary for a person to live and get the job done, such as air,
water, food and protection from environmental dangers. Needs also include the need for
human interaction, need to socialise and sense of belonging.
Wants2
A want is something that can improve your quality of life or is desired. It is said that
everybody has unlimited wants but limited resources to acquire everything. Therefore,
people cannot afford to have everything they want and must always look for more affordable
alternatives.
For example, a person working as a salesman might want to own a Porsche but needs a car
for work. You may need to make a phone call, but you want the latest smartphone with the
latest technology.
1
(2019, August 29). Need. Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Need
2
(2019, July 29). Want. Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Want
2
Target Market and Audience
Target Market
A target market is defined as a particular group of consumers at which a product or service is
aimed.
Target Audience
A business must define its target audience to connect with the customers they want to reach.
Target audiences are distinct groups or segments of customers. Clearly defining your
business’ target audiences will help you promote the aspects of your business that are most
relevant to each group.
Knowing your target audiences well will help you deliver your marketing messages in a way
customer will respond to best.
Target
Audience
3
Demographics and Psychographics
Demographic information categorises people by age, occupation, gender and income. Some
examples of Demographic Profiles include:
• Housing • Gender
Psychographic factors define people based on their interests, like people who collect stamps
or coins to people who like cats or people who like counting buses. Some examples of
Psychographic Factors include:
It is important to keep in mind that customer preferences are always changing, and a
successful business must be able to adapt to these constant changes.
4
2. The 4Ps of Marketing
The Marketing Mix
The Marketing Mix is a tool for business owners to understand and plan a successful product
or service offering.
The 4Ps of marketing, Product, Price, Promotion, and Place, are broad categories for
marketing decision-making and serve as the foundation model for businesses.
5
Product
Product refers to an item that satisfies the consumer's needs or wants.
Price
Price refers to the amount a customer pays for a
product as well as the willingness a customer is
prepared to sacrifice to acquire a product. It may
involve both monetary and psychological costs, such
as the time and effort spent in acquiring the product.
• List Price
• Price discounts
• Special offers
• Payments by Credit
• Credit terms
6
Place
Place refers to providing customer access and convenience for the consumer.
Businesses need to make decisions to setup a physical location to carry out the business,
storage, distribution, etc. Increasingly, place also refers to virtual locations online.
Promotion
Promotion refers to the marketing communication used to make the offer known to potential
customers and persuade them to investigate it further. Promotion elements include
advertising, public relations, direct selling and sales promotions.
7
The Digital Marketing Mix
The digital marketing mix is fundamentally the same as the Marketing Mix, adapted to the
digital age through the use of digital technology.
Price or Value
Products or services are priced as per their offline counterparts. The main advantage is that
pricing changes may be adjusted in real-time digitally, compared to physical stores.
The Internet enables consumers to make a comparison of real-time prices before they make
a purchase decision, which saves time and effort for the customer, providing a higher degree
of price transparency with customers.
Pricing becomes competitive as the massive overheads of Rent, Labor and Utilities are
minimised.
8
Place or Access
The internet has enabled companies to sell online through an E-commerce Platform,
providing a cheaper alternative to physical retail places. It also allows companies to
distribute their products and services without the need to rent a physical store. Enabling new
companies to set up a business through an internet storefront.
• Shopee
• Lazada
• Amazon
• Qoo10
Promotion
Promotion still refers to the concept of the marketing communication used to make the offer
known to potential customers and persuade them to investigate it further. However, in the
digital space, the selection of target markets becomes more important.
• Display Ads
• Search Marketing
o Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)
o Pay-per-click (PPC) mechanics
o Search Engine Marketing
• Opt-in E-mail Advertising
• Online Public Relations
o Managing positive and negative online comments.
• Interactive Advertising
• Social Media Marketing (see section 3.4)
9
3. Describe the key steps of the marketing
process for a business
3.1. Traditional marketing mix
Use the 4Ps to help to decide and define what market strategy will best suit your product or
service offering.
• The Product should fit the task consumers want it for, it should work, and it should
be what the consumers are expecting to get.
• Assess how much the target customers are willing to pay for the product. Determine
and set the Price.
• Determine the message to Promote the product or service. How to use the product
and the usefulness of the product are common messages.
A. Google Analytics
Google Analytics provides insights into how your customers are behaving when
visiting your website, and It can show you which products they viewed and what they
purchased or did not purchase. It can also show you what social media channels they
are responding to.
The Google Keywords tool provides information into the behaviour of consumers
when searching online for products or services similar to what you are offering.
C. Google Trends
Google Trends is data gathered from its search engine. Providing an instant
snapshot of consumer social media and search behaviour, coupled with the latest
news and opinions from within your industry.
Google Trends can be used for comparative keyword research and to discover event-
triggered spikes in keyword search volume. Google Trends provides keyword-related
data, including search volume index and geographical information about search
engine users.
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D. Survey
One of the simplest methods to obtain information about your target customer is to
perform a survey. You may use an online tool such as Survey Monkey to run a digital
survey, or you may use a more traditional printed survey, a street survey, or a
telephone survey. The information obtained is dependent on what information you
are looking for.
For example, before launching a new cell phone case, you may conduct a survey to
find out what colours your customers may like. Without a survey, you may launch a
product in a colour that may not be well received by the customers and therefore fail
to sell any of your products!
• Direct Response
o E-mail Marketing (opt-in)
o Direct Mailers
• Media Advertising
o Print
o Broadcast
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3.4. Understanding common social media
marketing strategies
Always check and refresh your advertisements to stay relevant to your customers.
• Content Marketing
• Affiliate Marketing
12
Content marketing
Content marketing is the marketing and business process for creating and distributing
relevant and valuable content to attract, acquire, and engage a clearly defined and
understood target audience – with the objective of driving profitable customer action. 3
In 2015, Hootsuite ran a content marketing campaign, capitalising on the then popular
Game of Thrones TV series to draw their target audience to the Hootsuite social media
manager application. The content went viral with fans of the tv series, sparking emotion and
curiosity about the Social Media Management application.
3
Content Marketing Definition - Examples. (2017, January 13). Retrieved from https://contentmarketinginstitute.com/2012/06/content-marketing-
definition/
13
4Affiliate marketing
Affiliate marketing is a type of performance-based marketing in which a business rewards
one or more affiliates for each visitor or customer brought by the affiliate's marketing efforts. 5
For example, you run a website reviewing specific products such as Toasters. You include
links to various resellers of each toaster you review supplied by the Affiliate.
When visitors come to your website, read your product review, and click on the links you
have provided, they are brought to specific Affiliate web pages selling the Toasters they just
read about.
4
What is Affiliate Marketing? Ultimate Guide for Beginners | More Niche. (2018, October 19). Retrieved from
https://moreniche.com/blog/beginners-guide-affiliate-marketing/
5
Affiliate marketing. (2018, December 10). Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Affiliate_marketing
14
Direct Response
• E-mail Marketing (opt-in)
• Direct Mailers
Media Advertising
• Broadcast
15
Execute, monitor and adjust social media marketing
strategy
• Once a marketing strategy and social media platform have been determined, execute
the campaign.
• Monitor the campaign by tracking meaningful metrics. What data you are tracking is
dependent on what your original goals are. Some common Social Media Metrics are;
Engagement
Awareness
Impressions
How many times a post shows up in someone’s timeline
Reach
Potential unique users a post could have seen your message/ content
For example, if a message or content has a high impression and low engagement,
the message is not interesting enough for your target audience to take action.
However, if your message has a high impression and high engagement, your
message may have gone viral.
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An Introduction to Branding
Branding is an important aspect of a business or organisation. An effective brand strategy
gives you an advantage in your market/s. Your brand is your promise to your customer.
It informs them what they can expect from your products and service offerings, and it
differentiates your products and services from your competition.
Your brand describes who you are, whom you want to be and how people perceive you to
be.
Decide what key messages you want to communicate about your brand.
c. Develop a tagline.
Create a memorable, meaningful and concise statement that captures the essence of
your brand.
Branding extends to every aspect of your business and organisation, including your
stationery, how phone calls are answered, what your staff wears and more. Select a
colour scheme, decide on where to place your log, create brand templates and be
consistent in its use.
Customers will not return to you or recommend your brand to another person if you
do not deliver on your brand promise.
f. Brand consistency.
Your brand must be consistent in the delivery of its promise every time.
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4. Describe the purpose and features of
distribution channels
A Retail store is the most popular and prominent example of a Business to Consumer
Channel. For example, you produce apples at your apple juice factory and then set up a
store to sell the packaged juice directly to the customer.
Online Channel
B2C is now a phrase used to describe retailers using a digital store on the internet to sell
directly to their customers.
Traditional Channel
The term business to business refers to the process of selling products and services
between companies. For example, Apple may purchase microchips from a supplier like
Samsung, glass from Corning, storage from Toshiba or Seagate and pay a factory like
Foxconn to assemble their Apple iPhones and MacBook.
Similarly, a company may also hire the services of an advertising agency to manage their
communications, hire a contractor to provide cleaning services at a food court, an architect
to design a series of new HDB flats or engage the services of a lawyer to assist them in legal
matters.
Online Channel
Due to the prevalence of the internet, Business to Business can find and compare services
faster and more conveniently. Platforms like Alibaba provide companies to find other
companies offering their products and services.
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4.3. Consumer to Consumer
Traditional Channel
Online Channel
Platforms like Carousell and eBay function similarly to auctioneers like Sotheby’s by
providing an online platform to facilitate consumer-to-consumer transactions. The major
difference is that online platforms provide a massive channel that allows consumers the
safety and luxury to sell their items or any value. The logistical and space constraints are no
longer a problem as the goods tend to be stored with the seller till it is sold, and delivery of
the item is simply a mail drop away by logistic carriers such as FedEx or your local, national
mail service like Singpost.
However, with the introduction of the internet, Consumers now create value that businesses
and organisations may purchase. A very good example of this new shift is content creators
such as Social Media influencers that create online content that is consumed by millions of
people daily. Due to their large following and viewership, companies are willing to pay and
associate with these consumers to communicate their products and services.
Famous examples include famous YouTube personality Pewdiepie, aged 29, who is worth an
estimated USD$30 million as of 2019, and Ryan Kaji of Ryan’s toy review fame, aged eight,
who earned an estimated USD$26 million in 2019. Toy companies will pay Ryan to include
paid reviews in his videos to target children.
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5. Outline the promotional mix
A promotional mix is a combination of marketing methods, including advertising, sales, public
relations and direct marketing, to achieve a specific marketing goal. The promotional mix is
typically only part of a larger marketing mix. These are tactics to achieve the overall marketing
strategic goal.
1. Advertising.
2. Sales Promotions
3. Direct Marketing
4. Personal Selling
5. Public Relations
5.1. Advertising
Advertising is a means of communication, usually between an organisation and the
consumer of a product or service.
Advertisements are messages paid for by people, organisations and governments to inform
or influence people who receive the message.
Advertising is present in our daily lives many of us are not be aware of it. In our globalised
and technologically linked economies, advertisers communicate in every possible media to
deliver their message.
Television commercials
Newspapers
Magazines
Radio
Websites
Outdoor billboards
Taxis
Buses
Endorsements
• Celebrity
• Professional
• Influencers
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5.2. Sales Promotion
Sales are short-term tactics to persuade a potential customer to buy a product or service.
This has given rise to small business owners, especially content creators. Some online
examples are;
The Etsy platform, where creators sell their creations via their websites or online
sales platforms.
The YouTube and Youku Tudou platforms allow anybody to create video content and
be paid for it.
Instagram and Meitu Xiuxiu allow anybody to create images and earn revenue.
The TikTok platform, or Douyin 抖音 as it is called in China, enables users to make
money through a combination of revenue streams that can include sponsorships,
fundraising drives, product sales, and working with brands and influencers.
Small business owners and content creators have also benefited from the ease of internet
payments, such as;
Paypal
Amazon Pay
Google Pay
Apple Pay
Paynow
Paylah!
GrabPay
Consumers can pay the creators directly through an online platform or just to the creator’s
cell phone-linked bank account.
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5.4. Personal Selling
Personal selling is where an organisation uses people to sell their product or services
with a face-to-face meeting with the customer.
The sellers promote the product through their attitude, appearance and specialist
product knowledge.
They aim to inform and encourage the customer to buy or at least try the product.
Ray Kroc, the founder of McDonalds used to be to a door to door sales professional, selling
Milkshake machines before founding McDonalds.
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5.5. Public Relations
Public relations is a strategic communication process that builds mutually beneficial
relationships between organizations and their publics.
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6. Describe the types of traditional marketing
strategy (audience, marketing objectives,
media)
Traditional marketing refers to any type of promotion, advertising or campaign activity that
has been used by companies and organisations for a long time that has proven success.
Traditional methods of marketing include print advertisements, billboards, flyers or
pamphlets, TV, newspaper, radio, and more.
Traditional marketing strategies tended to be broader, using a mix of print and broadcast
media to reach as many people within the defined target audience.
6.1. Print
Print includes all advertisements and communications that involve the printed medium. A
Print strategy may include the following;
Newspapers
A list of common newspaper dailies in
Singapore.
Newspapers have been the mainstay of marketing strategies and activities for many years.
Advertisers will purchase advertisement space from Newspapers and run advertisements
selling and promoting their products and services.
Currently, while newspapers are still a very strong and viable form of marketing strategy, it is
undergoing a major transitional shift to digital strategies as more people consume digital
communication rather than traditional forms.
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Magazines
A periodical publication that is generally published on a regular schedule on a wide variety of
topics and typically financed through advertising, the purchase price of the magazine, a
prepaid subscription to the magazine or a combination of these three modes of financing.
Magazines are excellent print strategies for businesses depending on the subject matter of
the magazine. With a narrower readership profile, usually based on interests and hobbies,
companies can leverage the magazine’s readership profile to advertise their products or
services.
For example, Harley Davidson or the Yamaha motor sports company may advertise in a
Motorcycle magazine for enthusiasts since the readers of the magazine will all probably
have the same interest.
Flyers
A form of printed paper advertisements used for wide distribution, usually in a public space
and out to individuals. Flyers can also be sent by mail to individual homes. They can be
printed on a high-quality paper or a simple photocopy. Typically found in high foot traffic
areas, companies may adopt this low-cost strategy to advertise their products or services.
For example, a cell phone repair company may perform a flyer distribution in Shenton Way
to advertise their services during lunch time. (Peak traffic period in Shenton Way)
Direct Mailers
Direct mailers are a form of advertising mail, communicating an offer to a pre-selected
database of customers based on their demographic and psychographic profile. This form of
printed strategy is also known as direct response marketing. When used correctly, it is one
of the most effective strategies for businesses, but if used incorrectly, it becomes an
unwelcome form of communication.
Banks are businesses that still use Direct mailers as a primary strategy to reach their
potential customer base, especially for their credit card services.
Brochures/Pamphlet
Brochures are informative paper documents that are folded
into a template or pamphlet, or leaflet that is pocketable.
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Catalogues
Alternatively, modern mail catalogues encourage the customer to visit the store. Traditional
print catalogues are fast becoming obsolete. Making way for online catalogue listings. In
December 2020, IKEA ended its annual print catalogue after 70 years.
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Billboards
These Billboards are typically found in high-traffic areas as well as major highways and
motorways. The more densely populated the area, the more likely a media owner will
attempt to create a space for billboard advertising. If a billboard is a printed, the poster is
housed, usually in a waterproof shell and printed on high-quality fade-resistant paper.
Most Billboards have converted to digital boards which allow for rapid change of
advertisements compared to print which required the advertisements to be printed and
manually changed at each location.
Digital billboards and 3D digital billboards, as well as interactive billboards are now
commonplace in major cities globally.
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6.2. Broadcast
The broadcast media medium includes anything that is transmitted via radio or television.
The three main broadcast methods are;
o Television
o Radio
o Cinemas
The Broadcast medium is still considered a very strong traditional medium mainly because
most broadcast owners create content for their respective companies, such as HBO with
Game of Thrones, ABC with Grey’s Anatomy and NBC with Parks and Recreation.
Similarly, a Radio station such as 98.7 or Class 95 broadcasts music to listeners via radio.
Movies are made by movie studios such as Disney and released to movie theatres where
audiences may consume the content in the comfort of a theatre. Movies and TV shows,
however, are undergoing a revolution.
Streaming
A digital revolution is underway for the broadcast medium, which is already having an impact
on the way customers consume entertainment. The traditional television network is
transforming as broadcast transforms to streaming.
While streaming and social media platforms like YouTube could be considered broadcast
media, they are categorised as new media by the industry.
Netflix, Disney+, HBO Max (HBO Go in Singapore), Hulu, Amazon Prime Video and Apple
TV+ sits in between the old and the new. Given these digital streaming platforms have
original content created for their platform, much of this original content may eventually end
up on traditional platforms like the cinema.
Traditional Media companies like Warner Brothers and Disney are experimenting with the
distribution of their original content, opting to release their movies on HBO and movie
theatres simultaneously due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Disney also opted for a hybrid
distribution, releasing their content in both theatres and their streaming service Disney+.
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UNIT 2: Comply with Regulatory
Requirements for Content Creation
Define Intellectual Property
Intellectual property (IP) is a category of property that includes intangible creations of the
human mind. There are many types of intellectual property, and some countries recognize it
more than others. The most well-known types are:
• copyrights
• patents
• trademarks
• trade secrets
6
(2019, August 31). Intellectual property. Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intellectual_property
29
Describe Types of IP And Sources of
Information
2.1. COPYRIGHTS7
Copyright protects works like
• Novels
• Computer Programmes
• Plays
• Music
• Film
• Photographs
• Paintings.
When you own the copyright to any of these works, you control the use and commercial
exploitation of these works. This means that you have the right to prevent others from
reproducing, publishing, performing, communicating to the public, or adapting your work.
Scope of Protection
Copyright protects the expression of ideas in tangible forms. Ideas alone cannot be
protected. Here are what may be protected under copyright law:
Literary works
• Written works, e.g., poems, lyrics, source codes
Dramatic works
• Scripts for films
• Scripts for stage plays
• Choreography
Musical works
• Melodies
Artistic works
• Drawings, paintings, sculptures, photographs, engravings*
• Buildings or models of buildings*
• Works of artistic craftsmanship
Additionally, films, sound recordings, television and radio broadcasts, cable programmes
and performances are also protected by copyright.
7
Copyright. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.ipos.gov.sg/understanding-innovation-ip/copyright
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2.1.1. The © Symbol
The copyright or © symbol is merely a notice by the owner that the copyright exists. The
presence of the symbol does not give the copyright owner any additional rights; the absence
of the symbol does not mean that the copyright owner has waived his rights.
In practice, the symbol is usually followed by the year when a copy of the work was first
made available and the name of the copyright owner.
70 years from the end of the year in which the creator died. Specifically for photographs, or
if the work is published after the death of the author, it lasts for 70 years from the end of the
year in which the work was first published.
Sound recordings
70 years from the end of the year in which the sound recording is first published.
Performances
70 years from the end of the year of the performance.
Infringement occurs when you have not obtained the consent of the copyright owner to do
something that only the copyright owner has the right to do. For example, making a
photocopy of a textbook without the consent of the publisher.
To obtain consent from copyright owners, you may: contact the copyright owner directly and
negotiate for a licence to use the copyrighted material; or obtain a licence through a
collective management organisation.
Alternatively, you may use the materials found on Creative Commons (CC) without the need
to further seek explicit permission from the owner, so long as the use conforms to the licence
attributes.
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Using or copying materials from the internet
Do not assume that whatever is posted on the internet is fair game for copying.
Before you copy or use any material available on the internet, always check if the website
has terms and conditions governing the use of the content on the website. A link to the terms
and conditions can usually be found at the foot of the homepage. Else, try to identify the
website owner and write to them for permission.
The rights of a copyright owner 8.
When a person or persons create original content, they have exclusive rights to use and
control the use of their works for commercial exploitation. In other words, they can use their
creations to make money.
This includes;
1. Artistic works
2. Cable programmes
• make a recording of it
• communicate it to the public
• screen it to be seen by a paying audience
3. Films
• make a copy of it
• screen it to the public
• communicate it to the public
Authors of books, plays and music enjoy the exclusive rights to:
8
Reproduced with permission from the Intellectual Property Office of Singapore
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5. Published editions of literary, dramatic, musical or artistic works
6. Performances
The performer has the right to authorise the performance for the following uses:
7. Sound recordings
• make a copy of it
• rent it out
• publish it
• make it available to the public by means of as part of a digital audio transmission
• make a recording of it
• rebroadcast it
• communicate it to the public
• broadcast it to be seen or heard by a paying audience
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2.1.4. Ownership
In general, the person who created the work (i.e. the author) owns the copyright in the work.
However, there are three situations where this general rule is not applied. i.e. where the
creator of the work, by default, is not the first owner of the copyright.
Employees
If you create the work during employment, your employer will automatically own the work.
This applies to all employees except for journalists.
Journalists
If you created the works while employed as a journalist by a newspaper, magazine or other
periodicals, and the work is created for publication in these mediums, your employer will
automatically have the right to publish and reproduce these works in publications.
However, you, as the journalist, still have the right to publish the work for other purposes,
such as collation into a book.
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2.1.5. Commercialisation
Copyright, like real estate, can be sold or leased.
Selling your copyright means transferring/assigning your ownership of the copyright to a third
party.
Leasing your copyright means licensing a third party's specific uses of the copyright-
protected work. The transfer/assignment or licensing of copyright is usually carried out by a
written contract together with payment of fees.
Assignment and licensing of the copyright can generate revenue streams for the copyright
holder.
As a copyright owner, bear these in mind when choosing between an assignment and a
license:
Assignment License
No
Do I retain ownership of the
Ownership of the copyright Yes
copyright?
is completely transferred to
a new owner.
Do I have full control over the
No Yes
copyright?
Yes
Is my permission still
The third-party licensee will
required should third parties No
only have the right to use the
request to use my copyright?
copyright as set out in the
license.
Can I charge third parties a
Yes Yes
fee for using my copyright?
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2.2. PATENTS
A patent is a right that is granted for an invention. It can take the form of a new product,
process or technical improvement to existing technology.
• Benefits:
o New – The invention should not be publicly known in any way, anywhere in
the world. Owners of inventions should be careful to keep the invention secret
until a patent application has been successfully made. If the idea has already
been talked about, commercially exploited, advertised or demonstrated, then
the novelty of the invention may be compromised.
o Industrial application – The invention must be useful and have some form of
practical application. It should be capable of being made or used in some
form of industry.
Term of Protection
• Once your patent is granted, it will be protected for 20 years from the Date of Filing.
Thereafter, the patent is to be maintained yearly, starting from the 5th year.
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2.3. TRADEMARKS
A trade mark is a sign that you can use to distinguish
your business's goods or services from those of other
traders.
• Benefits
Once you register your trade mark, you will enjoy a monopoly over its use. You may:
If you use the ™ symbol, this tells others that you are using the logo or name as a trade
mark, but the mark may not be registered or protected under trade mark laws.
• Eligibility
You can register your mark as a trade mark as long as it is distinctive and can distinguish
your goods or services from similar marks of other traders.
Trade marks can be in the form of letters, words, names, signatures, labels, devices,
tickets, shapes and colours, or any combination of these elements.
• Marks that are descriptive (e.g. super, best, cheap, one dozen)
• Marks that are not distinctive or are common to your trade (ones that have become
well accepted in relation to your trade and do not distinguish the goods or services
you are offering)
• Marks that could offend or promote immoral behaviour
• Deceptive marks (ones that could misrepresent the nature, quality or geographical
origin of the goods or services)
• Marks that are identical to earlier marks
• Marks that could cause confusion, as there is a similar or identical mark filed earlier
in relation to similar or identical goods and/or services
• Marks that are identical or similar to well-known marks
Terms of Protection
Once your trade mark is registered, it will be protected for ten years. You may renew
the registration upon its expiry.
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2.4. TRADE SECRETS
“Confidential Information” generally means
information which is not known to the public or in
the public domain but is private to the company or
individual who possesses that confidential
information.
• Whether the information was used improperly and caused financial damage to the
company.
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c) Relationship between confidential information and other types of intellectual
property
For Example:
Why does coke use a trade secret instead of a patent?
Coca-Cola made a choice to brand the recipe a trade secret instead of patenting it,
which would have led to the disclosure of the ingredients. Coca-Cola decided to
keep the recipe as confidential information.
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Describe ways to acknowledge IP
Acknowledging Intellectual property is to recognise the rights of the Intellectual Property
Owners. Ideas are property and have value.
If you intend to use a work protected by copyright, such as music or other sound recordings,
you will need to be authorised and may obtain licenses from either the copyright owners or
from CMOs administering the relevant rights governing your use of such works.
• represents over 800 Hollywood studios, independent, special interest, and local
producers
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The Intellectual Property Office of Singapore (IPOS)
Registries of Patents, Designs & Plant Varieties
The Registries of Patents, Designs & Plant Varieties are responsible for
administering the Patents, Registered Designs and Plant Varieties Protection Act, as
well as the processing and granting of the corresponding rights in Singapore.
There are a few things you can do to protect yourself and your original work. Click here
to find out:
1. Include a copyright symbol © on your work, followed by your name and the
year the work was first created.
This symbol is a notice of your claim to the work. While it does not give you any
substantive right, the use of this symbol could come in useful if you are involved in
an infringement proceeding. If the infringement party claims that he did not know the
material was protected under copyright law, the use of the symbol would generally
stop him from successfully relying on this argument.
There are a number of ways you can maintain proof that you are the original author
of the work:
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Digital Rights Management
The rights management information includes information identifying the author of a work and
the terms and conditions relating to its use. It is used by authors of digital works to identify
their works or provide information about the copyrighted work.
The person performing any of the above acts must also know or ought reasonably to know
that the act will induce, enable, facilitate or conceal an infringement of the copyright in work.
Civil remedies
The owner of the copyright may take civil action against a person who does any of the acts
described above. Civil remedies available include:
a. injunction;
b. damages (including an account of profits); or statutory damages in lieu of damages of
not more than $20,000;
c. order for delivery up of any articles used to carry out the prohibited act to the
copyright owner or exclusive licensee; or order for destruction.
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Describe the Consequences of Infringement
of Intellectual Property
The copyright laws in Singapore provide severe penalties and are considered criminal
offences.
• The Manufacture of infringing copies for sale, such as copying music or movies to
flash drives and other forms of digital media devices to sell.
• The selling of infringing copies such as pirated movies and music.
• The ownership and possession of infringing copies or importation of infringing copies
for commercial purposes
• Distribution of infringing copies for commercial purposes
• In any of the instances above, it must be proved that the infringing party knows or
ought reasonably to know that the copies are infringing ones.
Penalties
Criminal liability for wilful infringement Penalties
Manufacture for sale;
Sale of infringing copies; • A fine not exceeding a total of
$100,000 per charge; and/or
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Criminal liability for wilful infringement
It is also a criminal offence if a person wilfully infringes a copyright to obtain a commercial
advantage and/or to a significant extent.
Commercial advantage means any direct advantage, benefit or financial gain for a business
or trade. As to whether the infringement is to a significant extent, this is judged based on the
volume and value of infringing copies, whether the infringement has a substantial prejudicial
impact on the copyright owner and all other relevant matters.
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Many third-world nations still have very poor Intellectual property laws and are some of the
worst copyright violators in the world, where many popular brands are copied for illegal
commercial gain.
Some examples of counterfeit brands around the world. (Click on the link)
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UNIT 3: Create Social Media Content
The following are the most popular social networks worldwide as of January 2022,
ranked by the number of active users (in millions) 9:
9
Published by S. Dixon, & 26, J. (2022, July 26). Biggest social media platforms 2022. Statista. Retrieved November 30, 2022, from
https://www.statista.com/statistics/272014/global-social-networks-ranked-by-number-of-users/
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1.1.2. Lower Cost
Social Media Marketing can be quite expensive if done at a global level. However, because
it’s more targeted, and the target audience is better defined compared to traditional media,
it’s cheaper for small companies and entrepreneurs to enter their respective markets and
start selling and advertising.
1.1.3. Trackable
Most Social Media platforms have robust tools to help advertisers track their advertising
campaigns on each platform. There are also external independent software tools that track
social media, like keyhole, hootsuite, and digimind.
1.1.4. Measurable
Social Media is Measurable. For example, advertisers can calculate the click-through-rate
(CTR), which represents a ratio showing how often people who see the advertisement end
up clicking it. It can also measure how much an advertiser will have to pay with Cost-Per-
Click (CPC).
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1.2. Disadvantages
1.2.1. Media Fragmentation
Social Media platforms, while relatively new, are already heavily fragmented. There are
many platforms all vying for consumer and advertiser attention. Some have, like Facebook
and Whatsapp, while many have not succeeded, like Google +. Facebook may currently
have 2 billion users but is losing its customer base, especially with the younger generation.
Instagram is rapidly facing competition from the likes of Tiktok and Little Red Book 小红书
.
All this means that while there is more choice, it becomes subsequently harder to keep
track and target the right audience because the customer may migrate to other platforms
quickly and often.
1.2.3. Time-consuming
Managing the many various social media platforms is time-consuming and maybe
ultimately costly as the need to hire experienced social media specialists and managers
may be too expensive for smaller businesses if they are not careful. Keeping track of
campaigns running on various platforms, as well as deciding what platform to use, may be
too difficult for inexperienced and smaller to medium-sized businesses.
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2. Describe the types of content marketing
strategy
What is a content marketing strategy?
Content marketing is a strategic marketing approach focused on creating and distributing
valuable, relevant, and consistent content to attract and retain a clearly-defined audience —
and, ultimately, to drive profitable customer action.
1. Authority Content
Authority Content is the act of consistently creating and distributing helpful information and
stories to gain attention, engagement and trust, for a clearly defined audience, with the
objective of identifying who will benefit from your products and services.
For example, the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) has been broadcasting the news
since 1922 on media such as Radio, Television and Digital Media. Wikipedia has been an
online encyclopaedia since 2001, providing information on almost everything. Both examples
have provided consistent, quality and helpful content to users. Over time, they become
authorities in their respective fields. BBC for quality news from around the news, and Wikipedia
as an authority content provider for information.
2. Influencer Outreach
An influencer is a person who is able to reach
and deliver a message to a large group of
people (followers). Influencers are relatively
new, and engaging the right audited influencer
is a powerful alternative to traditional
advertising and is very effective in developing
the credibility of a brand. Influencers are also
very good at promoting awareness of a brand
through social media.
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3. Viral Content
The word “viral” is a piece of content that is circulated rapidly and widely from one web user
to another. Viral content is material, usually, an article, an image or a video, that spreads
rapidly online through website links and social media platforms. Advertisers and content
creators are constantly looking to create the next piece of viral content. It spreads across
social networks rapidly, like a virus.
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3. Describe ways to align different social media
platforms to marketing strategy
• Instagram – has many younger users and is best used for products and services that
are very visual, mainly videos and images.
• Facebook – has 2 Billion users and is suitable for any company. You can send
videos, audio, images, and short messages and attach files to individuals and
selected demographical groups according to your marketing requirements.
• Whatsapp – is good for one-to-one interaction with customers. You can send videos,
audio, and images and attach files and short messages.
Campaigns can be tracked depending on the platform chosen, as many current social media
platforms have built-in campaign trackers.
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Web Analytics
Conversion Tracking
This is used and built into most platforms like Facebook, Google Adwords and Instagram.
This shows the Marketer whether their paid campaigns are working by tracking such
information as;
• New Sales
• Number of times the app is downloaded
• New sign-ups
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CRM Tracking
CRM software is widely used in companies worldwide. Popular software like Salesforce and
Deskera allows organisations to track potential and current customers with detailed
information about the individual or organisation, providing the marketing professional with
useful insights. The software allows detailed tracking of
• Leads
• Opportunities
• Referral programs
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B. Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
The difference between SEO and SEM is where SEO is an earned media SEM is a paid
media. With SEM, one purchases ad space with search engine companies such as
Google, Yahoo, Bing, etc., to position one’s content at a higher rank of their SERPs.
Essentially, the differences between SEO and SEM are summarised in the table below:
D. Influencer Marketing
Influencer marketing is a modern-day content-driven marketing campaign where brands
collaborate with influencers who have social influence in their respective fields. It takes on
the idea of celebrity endorsement, except that influencers are people with mass (hundreds
of thousands or even millions) followings on their social media, which makes them
influential in the buying decision of consumers.
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Offline Digital Marketing
Offline digital marketing involves electronic devices such as electronic billboards and
electronic tablets, and the requirement of an internet connection is not necessary.
Following is a list of (but not limited to) offline digital marketing channels:
A. Electronic Billboard
B. Radio Advertising
C. Television Marketing
D. Mobile Marketing (SMS Marketing)
A. Electronic Billboard
The electronic billboard is another form of offline digital marketing that advertises either
static images or visual motion format with the help of an electronic conductor. Prime
locations where you can find these electronic billboards include malls, airports, streets,
highways, etc.
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A. Radio Marketing
Radio remains a relevant medium in Singapore, with three radio broadcasters and 19
radio stations in total. According to Nielsen Radio Diary Survey conducted in 2019,
MediaCorp continues to be Singapore’s number-one radio network. As such, radio
marketing presents a big opportunity to extend its reach to a large number of listeners.
B. Television Marketing
One of the oldest forms, yet still popular medium of advertising is television marketing. It
allows the display of advertisements to communicate with viewers in both audio and visual
motion formats. Using satellite to cover its reach, television shows and interactive
programs are arranged at scheduled timing.
An example of mobile marketing is the usage of an electronic tablet used by service staff
at a restaurant for ordering, or you, as a customer, place your meal order using the
electronic tablet. It is an enhanced offline marketing experience with a digital device.
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5. Describe the Various Social Media Platforms
The rise of social media platforms has been around since the early 2000s. Based on
statistics, there are 8 billion people in the world (as of November 2022), with 4.2 billion of
whom are active social media users. In other words, one-in-two people in the world use
social media platforms.
With thousands of social media platforms globally and more entering the market each
year, not all are popular in terms of the number of users and their usage. In this unit, we
are going to narrow down to four trending and commonly known social media platforms,
namely Facebook, YouTube, WhatsApp, Instagram and TikTok.
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Facebook
With close to 2.85 billion active users to date, Facebook is the largest and leading
social media platform in the world. It is also the first to surpass the landmark of 1
billion active user accounts amongst other social media platforms.
Key attractions of Facebook that appeal to the masses is its free service and user-friendly
interface. Even people with no technical knowledge background can sign up for an account
and begin posting on Facebook, such as uploading and sharing photos/ videos, text messaging,
posting status, etc. As much as it serves as an entertaining site that appeals to users to gain
access regularly, Facebook provides a set of privacy control options to safeguard users’
information from getting to a third party.
Although Facebook started solely for networking purposes, as a way to connect or reconnect
with relatives and friends, it soon transits to become another means for businesses to market
their brand through paid Facebook ads, not to mention tapping on data analytics to drive
products and deliver ads to target users.
Features of Facebook
• Facebook reels
Facebook Reels is a new video-sharing feature that allows users to upload short videos with text
annotations.
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• New Messenger features (Meta Pay)
Meta Pay enables the user to send and receive money across Facebook, Messenger, Instagram,
and WhatsApp with its new payment system that streamlines payments to Facebook shops.
Creators may now place ads in their live videos on their own, allowing them to reach the very best
audience network. In-stream ads are available for Facebook live video streams through Live
Producer.
In-Stream Ads
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YouTube
YouTube is the second most popular social media platform used, with almost
2.3 billion users. With 500 hours of video uploaded to YouTube every minute,
users are watching over a billion hours of YouTube videos each day, more than
Netflix and Facebook videos combined. The world is made more connected as
YouTube offers videos in 80 different languages and is viewed by 95% of the global population
with an internet connection. In addition, millennials prefer YouTube to live television.
Findings from the Pew Research Center survey of U.S. adults showed that many are turning
to YouTube for more than entertainment.
• DIY
• Gaming
• Lifestyle
• Tech
• Travel
• Unboxing
• Design/Art
• Documentary
• Health and Fitness
• Tutorial/ Learning (how to on different subjects)
• Entertainment
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Features of YouTube
• YouTube Chapters
YouTube automatically puts chapters in videos instead of having the content creator place them
manually.
• YouTube Shorts
YouTube Shorts was introduced in 2020, similar to TikTok. It is a concise video that is up to 60
seconds long. It has creation tools that make video content creation seamless.
YouTube Shorts
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• YouTube Homepage Filtering
A new sorting option on the YouTube homepage enables users to filter their content.
YouTube introduced new analysis data for a more detailed breakdown of your channel analytics.
Youtube.com
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WhatsApp
The chart below illustrates how WhatsApp fare amongst other messenger apps in its sector:
Features of WhatsApp
• Group video and voice calls
• WhatsApp on the web and desktop
• Share Live location (Real Time)
• Assign different priority and sound to different notifications
• Pin conversation or make a shortcut
• Limit data used by WhatsApp - decide what media (Photos, videos, documents, audio) the
app can download when you are not connected to Wi-Fi
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Instagram
Instagram is ranked third most popular in the social network category. There are
more than 100 million photos and videos uploaded to Instagram each day, and to
date, 50 billion photos have been shared. It started as a social networking platform
based on the sharing of photos and videos. Functions are simple, and it
emphasizes visual sharing on a smart device. This photo-sharing social networking app
enables one to capture beautiful moments and convert these pictures into works of art with
the aid of filters.
• Q&A
• Sneak Peak
• Behind the scenes
• Product recommendations
• Giveaway
• Influencer Takeover
• Introduce new products/ services
Features of Instagram
• Stories
Stories are a quick, easy way to share moments and experiences.
• Reels
Reels are entertaining, immersive videos where you can creatively express your story,
and get discovered by people. Reels can be created with multi-clip videos for up to 30
seconds.
• Shopping
Discover and buy from brands and creators. There are many ways to shop on Instagram,
from tapping product tags and saving items on wish lists to buying directly with checkout.
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TikTok
With over one billion active users on TikTok globally, this places the platform
just behind Instagram in terms of user volume. In recent years, TikTok has
levelled the playing field when it comes to achieving viral status and is becoming
a core player in the social media space.
The app’s content discovery feed, better known as the “For You” page or FYP,
focuses on optimizing the content you see and enjoy. TikTok has grown dominant because of
the prevalence of trends where the algorithm prioritizes content that fits certain online trends
that are presently popular, such as lip-syncing with the audio of a video.
• Viral trends
- pranks
- animals
- lip syncs
- challenges
- camera hacks
- comedy moments
- fitness workouts and tips
- fashion and beauty transitions
Tell your brand story like a TikTok creator by integrating video content into users' "For
You" feed.
• TopView
A video first format that presents your brand on the best and unmissable placement of
TikTok, capturing full user attention with sight, sound and narrative.
Invite the TikTok community to engage with your brand. This is a one-of-a-kind
engagement format that taps into user passion for creation and expression. Delivering
strong brand awareness with a level of engagement that goes far beyond a simple click.
• Spark Ads
Spark Ads is a native ad format that allows advertisers to tap into authenticity by boosting
organic content. This ad format allows the same user interactions as organic videos:
users can comment, like and share; they can visit your brand's profile by swiping left, or
clicking the handle name or profile picture; they can even follow your brand's account by
clicking the + icon on the profile picture.
• Branded Effect
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Effects are one of the TikTok community's favourite forms of expression. Branded Effects
comprise a robust suite of customizable filters, enabling users to interact with your brand
in all kinds of ways.
• Promote
Promote helps businesses reach more people and grow their community with their
TikTok videos. With Promote, you can turn any organic TikTok video into an ad, directly
within the app. You can start reaching new audiences, build a following, and drive traffic
to your business website.
The implementation of a planned social media marketing campaign strategy aims to improve
brand awareness and business KPIs (key performance indicators). KPIs are measured through
digital analytics and sales revenue results.
In this unit, we will look at the common considerations in social media marketing campaigns:
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2. Budget
Budgeting is funds that are important as part of the process of planning and executing a social
media marketing campaign. Without it, it is difficult to achieve business goals and calculate the
Return on Investment (ROI). (ROI will be further explained in Unit 5.)
What constitutes the overall budget for a campaign? The Social Media Budget Template
shown below classifies the costs into five expenditure categories. The in-house expense
column refers to work done by company employees, and outsourced expense refers to work
that is a subcontract to a private vendor.
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2.3. Social Engagement
It is where both employees and/or external vendors interact with social media users. They
listen and engage in brand talk per social channels, which are important activities in social
media. Cost is based on an estimated duration of the current activity.
2.4. Software/Tools
Software/tools are also a paid outsourced cost for social media insight analysis. It serves to
monitor, schedule, report, and analyse. Instances of software/tools are:
- Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)
(E.g. SEO is the practice of orienting your website to rank higher on a search engine
results page (SERP) so that you receive more traffic.)
- Editing Tools
(E.g. Adobe Creative Cloud for various editing needs - image resizing, etc.)
- Marketing Automation
(E.g. Marketo and MailChimp to help with email marketing)
- Analytics Tools
(E.g. Hootsuite Analytics to track social media campaigns with its display of
individual social channel metrics)
2.5. Promotion/Contests
Apart from buying reach through social media ads, the audience base is building and engaging
through promotion, discounts and contests. Unique offer code promotions, contests,
sweepstakes, coupons and discounts are costs incurred during the period of the campaign.
- Action-gating
(E.g., invite users to take polls, provide reviews, join mailing lists, etc.)
- Incentives
(E.g., offer discounts and exclusive content in exchange for user’s information)
- Proactive Engagement
(E.g. quick to address negative reviews with personal attention)
- Consistency in the look and feel of the brand’s online presence to reinforce the
marketing campaign
(E.g. adapt campaign branding and message across social channels - landing and
home pages)
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3. Type of Content
Brands use different type of content to achieve their marketing and business goals. The
content type to use will depend on the platform and users’ preferences when using the
platform.
Example of the type of content for each social media platform as follow:
The type of content can also be broadly categorised by the PESO model – Paid, Earned, Shared
and Owned Media.
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3.1. Paid Media
Paid media is a way to gain a presence on social sites where most social users are, and paid
techniques are used to promote content and drive exposure:
• Advertising
• Sponsored content
• Display advertisements
• Banner advertisements
• Paid search results
• Video ads
• Paid influencers
• Website
• Blog
• Newsletter
• Social media channels
Each of the four channels of the PESO model has its benefits and pitfalls. Thus, to apply the
right type of content in a marketing campaign is to integrate multiple channels in order to
compensate for the weakness of one channel with the strength of another.
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4. Usability
As a subset of user experience, usability is a measure of a user’s ability to use the brand’s
social media marketing campaign interface easily. Good usability is defined by the ease of
access and/or use and the performance of the digital platforms.
The level of usability of a usable interface is determined by these outcomes:
1. The user is able to be familiar with and competent in using the user interface on the first
contact with the digital platform (website, mobile app, etc.).
Example:
To leave a product review on the social site in order to get a chance to win something,
the user should be able to navigate the social site easily through the course of
instructions provided.
2. The user is able to achieve their objective by using the digital platform.
Example:
If a user has the goal of leaving a product review, a good social site design will guide
the user through an easy process to do so.
3. The user is able to easily recall the user interface and know how to use it on
subsequent visits.
Example:
A good social site allows the user to quickly adapt from the first usage and repeat the
process of leaving a second product review easily.
The diagram below illustrates the role of usability in shaping the user/brand experience (UX):
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5. Timing
Timing in social media marketing campaigns refers to the scheduling of posts on the various
social platforms – which day to post, what to post at what timing of the day in order to maximise
reach and response from the target audience in real-time during the campaign. Thus, a social
media content calendar helps to organise and provide an overview of the content schedule in
advance. It is industry best practice, and its aim of it helps to:
As a general guide base on users’ social behaviour, the preferred time to post for each platform:
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6. Privacy
A social media marketing campaign, like any digital marketing, involves the collection, use and
dissemination of personal information. The risk of misuse and abuse of consumer data,
together with numerous reported cases of privacy lapses, calls for enforcement actions. An
instance is Facebook - Cambridge Analytical data breach scandal that made headlines in early
2018.
Threats surrounding social networking privacy are inevitable, and an individual has to play a
part in safeguarding against them. Users are advised to be vigilant in providing personal
information online, to log out from the site after use, to read the terms and conditions of the
site before agreeing, as well as encrypt and protect personal devices with a complex password.
In addition, governments have now played a part and stepped-up legislative effort in a big way:
EU GDPR is a law that comes into force on 25 May 2018. It is a regulation on data protection
and privacy for citizens of the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA).
The Personal Data Protection Act 2012 sets out the law on data protection in Singapore. It
regulates telemarketing practices, covers individual personal data, and takes on a light-touch
technical approach.
The Public Sector Governance Act (PSGA) was introduced in 2018 to provide additional
protection for personal data in the public sector and safeguard the misuse of data by public
servants. The data protection guidelines are also aligned with the PDPA.
Cybersecurity Act
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7. Outline the Development of Social Media
Content
7.1. Planning Production
7.1.1. Planning Phase
In the planning phase, brands seek to align and present their social media content with
consumers' wants. Provide them with the elements of a good content mix as well as a story
with a different genre that contributes value to it.
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7.1.2. Publishing Phase
Upon firming up the planning phase, the publishing phase is the drafting of the content base on
topics that interest consumers. Content will be drafted and published in an organised method
with the use of a Social Media Content Calendar, which aims to provide a visible plan for the
content mix as well as its scheduling process.
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• Google Drive – Easy to track and share
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7.2. Script Writing
Video on social media has gained much attention and growth in recent years as a content
showcase in videos is concise and easy to digest; it captures the interest of viewers. The key
to writing a good script is to strike the right balance in the video duration, where it is long
enough to preserve viewers’ attention yet short enough to keep viewers wanting to watch
more. With good advantage, videos make great storytellers of any social media content.
7.2.1. Introduction
Select a topic that will engage your viewers with digestible content points. Keeping it brief
makes the video content more memorable and interesting. As a guideline, a single synopsis
to bring the point across will make a good starting point, for example – "Hi! I'm [name] from
[brand], and in the next [duration] minutes, I'm going to teach you how to get your blog ranking
on the Search Engine."
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7.3. Storyboard Writing
A storyboard, similar to that of a comic strip, is a graphic tool for illustrating how a video will
unfold. It is displayed in sequence shot by shot (square by square). Each square represents a
scene, and it consists of the characters, dialogue, text, graphics, etc. (if any). A storyboard is
basically a pre-visualizing of a video.
The planning process of storyboarding a video is vital as it helps you to conceptualise and
visualise the order of the shots. The essential 4-step method of storyboard writing is as follows:
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7.3.2. Script Write-Up
With each square, input the scenario and the line of script as well as dialogue that corresponds
to the scene. An instance of a template shown below includes details for the particular scene,
such as the action required, audio and its duration to be played, and additional comments/
remarks where required, such as a special mention of characters or objects of the story.
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7.4. Video Creation
Step 1: Record
With the advancement of technology, it is no longer necessary to get costly video equipment
to shoot high-quality videos. Most smartphones today can record videos of high visual and
audio quality with just a few simple tools and tricks.
Note: Before filming, know which social media platform(s) you will be using to upload the video
to, as this will determine the layout of the video recording process. Vertical video works best
for Instar-Stories, Facebook Stories, and Snapchat, while a horizontal video is a preferred
format on platforms like YouTube, Facebook, and Twitter.
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Step 2: Edit
There are many mobile-friendly video-editing apps available, and most of them
incorporate audio into your video, which makes video editing seamless and easy. Also,
include the full set of closing credits or end credits at the end of the video, listing the cast
of crews involved in the making of the video production, music, editors, wardrobe, etc.
Quik
Quik is a video editor app that allows one to edit on the go and syncs the shots (both
moving and still images) to the beat of the music with transitions and effects. Video is
customisable with text, music, theme, duration, video speed as well as filters.
iMovie (IOS)
iMovie is Apple’s very own free video editing app that comes with the iPhone. It provides
an easy-to-use interface for editing footage and adds titles, music, voiceovers, photos, and
many more features. In addition, it allows users to record videos straight from iMovie.
Step 3: Share
Having recorded and edited the video, it is now ready to be uploaded and shared directly
on the social media platform. Provide the video with a catchy title, appealing captions, and
trending hashtags to gain viewership. At this step, it is good to be mindful of the copyrights
and royalties of the video, graphics, and music used before sharing the video.
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7.5. Video creation tips
A. Framing
Rule of Thirds
The Rule of Thirds proposes that an image be imagined as divided into nine equal parts by
two equally spaced horizontal lines and two equally spaced vertical lines, and those
important compositional elements are placed along these lines or their intersections.
Aligning a subject with these points assists in creating more tension, energy and interest in
the composition than simply centring the subject.
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Leading lines
Leading lines are lines that appear in a photograph or film frame that has been framed and
positioned to draw the viewer's eye towards a specific point of interest. These lines often
draw the viewer's eye in a specific direction or towards a designated portion of the
photograph.
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Symmetry
In photography and filmography, symmetry appears when parts of your composition mirror
other parts. It is created when two halves of your scene look the same and balance each
other out.
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Framing within the Frame
A frame within a frame occurs when you use a visual element in the image to frame the
primary subject. The purpose of using a frame within a frame is to help move the viewer's
eye toward that subject.
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Single-Shot Framing
Two-Shot Framing
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Over-the-Shoulder
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Over-The-Hip Shot (OTH)
Essentially the same as the over-the-shoulder shot; however, the camera is now
placed at the character’s hip.
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Insert Shot
An insert shot is any shot that's sole purpose is to focus the viewer's attention
on a specific detail within a scene, usually from the POV of the character.
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B. Lighting
Key Lighting
The key light is the primary light source for your scene. The strength, colour, and angle of
your key light are determining factors in a cinematographer’s lighting design. The key light
is most often placed in front of your subject, at an angle, and thus illuminates one section
of your subject.
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Fill Lighting
A fill light is a second light source used to reduce the contrast of a scene. Working with the
Key light, the fill lighting helps to fill out dark areas and reduces the depth of shadows and
softens the appearance of facial features, amongst other traits.
Without a fill light, the details at the rear With a fill light, the details at the rear are
are lost. restored.
Back Lighting
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C. Sound
In a video, there are three main types of sounds: human voices, music and sound effects.
These three types of sounds are crucial for a video to feel realistic for the audience.
Sounds and dialogue must perfectly synchronize with the actions in a video immediately
and must sound the way they look, or it will sound unusual and strange. (This section is
best viewed with the digital format of the notes with the corresponding hyperlinks)
o Human Voices
o Music
o Music in movies can lend emotion and tension to the scene. Uplift or scare
audiences, lifting audiences with lighthearted tunes to build impending dread
and doom, as well as love and kindness, depending on the musical score.
o Sound Effects
o Sound effects are essential to any video, lending everyday sound we hear but
never really notice due to our familiarity with these sounds. Simple sounds
such as the crunching of leaves underfoot, the whisper of wind in the trees, the
crashing of waves at the beach or the sounds of a hawker centre lend
recognizable familiarity to the scene when we view it.
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UNIT 4: Manage Social Media Communities
• Technical failure
• Negative user response
• Poor engagement of the user
• Unable to control the content
• Digression to non-related topics
• Errors in communication going viral
In the year 2019, there were several reported technical failure cases against Facebook
services, and many users took to twitter to vent their frustrations. Of the cases, the worst being
in March when Facebook suffered extended downtime of more than 24 hours due to a server
configuration change.
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1.2 Negative User Response
Social media is a powerful tool for businesses to engage and establish trust with their present
and prospective customers, which leads to improving brand awareness as well as website
traffic. However, it does not deter users from posting negative comments or reviews on the
brand’s social media platforms. Thus, companies have to pay attention to addressing and
resolving negative responses with timeliness and professionalism.
While most customer support modes of communication via phone and email are not expected
to be available for response 24/7. Consumers do expect otherwise for customer support on
social media, and that includes responding promptly to any inquiries, reviews, and complaints.
Poor response time or, worst, lack of any response in social media customer service often
leads to escalated negative user experience.
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The following is extracted from Facebook of a business lack of customer support on social
media that resulted in multiple negative user responses:
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1.3 Poor Engagement of User
The number of times businesses invest in social media impacts users’ engagement. Poor
engagement of users often results from brands which
The diagram below shows worrisome statistics on the social media engagement challenges
many organisations face. Only an average of 4% of promotional posts posted were responded
to.
The use of social media platforms allows users to voice their comments and share their
experiences directly with brands. Contents such as posts, reviews, pictures and more; that are
created and shared by any users via social media networks are known as User-Generated
Content (UGC). With the increasing popularity of UGC, businesses run the risk of not being
able to control content and clock supervision is required to prevent any issues from arising.
With UGC, users are given the control of writing, posting and tagging the content to the
business social media platforms and oftentimes, this content may not be positive or
appropriately reflect the brand, which potentially causes the brand's reputational risks and
tamper the brand image.
As UGC essentially belongs to the user who creates and shares it, it is therefore important to
understand the relevant legal issues attached to UGC content. Hence, in order to share
users’ content on the business social media sites, permission from the user must be
obtained. Also, provide acknowledgement and credit to the user by tagging and mentioning
them, stating it clearly that the content belongs to the original creator.
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Confronting Fake/Spam Sources
It is inevitable to have spam, fake, ‘ghost’ profiles sneaking through digital platforms. These
profiles are a challenge to the organisation as these unreliable sources have a tendency to
leave inaccurate comments and information, which makes it hard for an organisation to
confront or rectify.
With the growing popularity of businesses tapping on UGC contests and campaigns, genuine
consumers may be doubtful of the authenticity of participants leaving reviews and submitting
the content. As such, an organisation may consider inviting consumers within the business
database to provide a “verified review”.
While social media marketing is an influential marketing means to reach out to the masses,
businesses have to be weary of the potential in which messages shared may digress into non-
related topics. Social media being one of the key sources of news and information for most,
misinformation can cause major untruths, which are sometimes taken out of context and taken
as headlines.
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1.6 Errors in Communication Going Viral
Social media in marketing is one of the key communication tools for most businesses. It gives
marketers a voice and a way to communicate with present and potential customers. However,
when there is an error in the communication chain, leading to a communication breakdown,
these errors may be widespread, like wildfire. As such, businesses will make a loss. Errors in
communication will have a negative impact on customers’ perception of the brand.
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2. Describe the Process to Respond to the
Possible Issues Arising from the Use of
Social Media Platforms
Earlier in this unit, we identified and went through 6 possible issues arising from the
organisation’s social media platforms. In order to prevent issues from escalating, we have to
first identify the potential issues as they surface and manage them before it turns into a full-
blown crisis. With that, it is good practice for any organisation to have a process in place to
respond to the possible issues arising from the use of social media platforms.
• Copyright
• Use and credit of third-party content
• Privacy
• Specify how to interact with customers on social media and when to take the
conversation offline
• Confidentiality
• Define types of business information employees are allowed or not allowed to
share
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2.3. Use Social Listening to Identify Potential
Issues
Social listening includes monitoring brand mentions and social sentiment.
A surge of brand mentions in social activity is an advanced warning that needs some
investigation.
Social sentiment should be monitored as it captures how people feel about the brand. An
unexpected change in social sentiment is usually a clue to start listening to what people are
talking about the brand.
• Twitter
- Effective for quick responses
• Business websites
- Most formal for a response
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3. Information Required from Social Media by
the Organization
Social media marketing is a long-term commitment. The use of online services for
relationship selling is based on developing rapport with customers. Social media services
make innovative use of new online technologies to accomplish the familiar communication
and marketing goals of this form of selling.
Your business will require information from social media to find out:
Without sentiment, data can be misleading. If your company receives a large number of
mentions on social media while launching a new product, you might assume the launch has
been successful. However, if the majority of posts are negative, then the opposite is true.
The presence of negative sentiment does not mean that a product or brand is a failure. The
ratio of positive to negative is also essential. Not every consumer will love your business.
Even those who are loyal customers will sometimes discover products they do not like or
have a negative experience. As long as the majority of customers have neutral to positive
feelings toward your company, your overall social sentiment will be positive.
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3.3 Brand reputation on a social network
• A good online reputation also impacts sales and profit in the long run.
• 90 percent of survey respondents claimed that positive online reviews influenced
buying decisions.
• In comparison, 86 percent said buying decisions were influenced by negative
online reviews.
• To develop and maintain not just a brand but an online personality which is likeable
and well-respected and with which individuals can develop a real sense of familiarity
and emotional connection.
With this in mind, each piece of content created and posted should have a common goal:
maximizing the amount of participation it prompts among followers.
Participation can be simple. Just asking followers to comment with a question can generate
online participation.
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B. Detect your competitors' strategies:
• Track your competitors’ events
• Stay up-to-date on trends and innovations in the sector
• Understand how competitors adapt their regional strategies
Example: A company from the banking sector uses social listening to capture
the main trends of FinTech, the economy, and the banking sector as a whole.
It also monitors the evolution of the various sectors corresponding to its
sponsorship initiatives in arts and sports. Finally, it captures insights about its
competitors in order to differentiate itself in terms of content. The company is
then able to demonstrate industry expertise, build customer loyalty, and
increase awareness.
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4. Types of User Response in Social Media
Platforms
Social media platforms allow users to interact with other users of varied backgrounds
and knowledge bases. Both consumers and marketers can use these insights to gain
access to consumer behaviour within a specific space.
A. Query
B. Complaint
C. Compliment
D. Comment
E. Feedback
F. Review
4.1 Query
• A query is a question or inquiry.
• Social media platforms where users ask questions and have their answers from
these interactions.
• Users place their queries in the online platforms, as they find themselves truly
learning about topics that they are interested in.
4.2 Complaint
• Customers complain when a company fails to provide a positive customer
experience.
• Most companies respond to any negative comments and complaints posted on
social media channels.
• The goals of these companies are to respond quickly, decipher the problem and
propose a solution.
4.3 Compliment
A Compliment is remark that expresses approval, admiration or respect. If a brand
exceeds expectations, customers are happy and are more willing to share their experience
on social media.
• Express gratitude
Use a short, simple yet powerful phrase, e.g. Thank you.
• Share credit
Try to acknowledge the contributions of everyone in the team, as success is
usually the result of team work.
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• Choose positivity
Express gratitude for the compliment and do not downplay the compliment, as
it would come across as rejecting the compliment.
4.4 Comment
Research shows that 3 out of every four consumers rely on social networks to guide
purchase decisions, while nearly 85% of them read up to 10 online reviews before they can
trust a brand. Going by these statistics, it is important for a company or a brand to pay
close attention to mentions, comments and reviews on social media and deal with them
effectively.
• Do not ignore/delete
Sometimes, frustrated customers may not give all the information that may be
required to help sort out the issue. In such cases, it is best to request politely from
them for the information. It would also be better to tell them why this information
is required to help quickly resolve the issue.
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4.5 Feedback
Feedback comprises information or statements of opinion about something, such as a
new product, that can tell you if it is successful or liked. Online customer feedback is nearly
synonymous with free publicity, especially on social media. If we listen to our customer
feedback and catch it early on, we can still benefit from it.
Customer feedback may not always be perfectly positive or negative, but it is definitely
important for publicity. If the feedback mentions names of staff the customer is
particularly impressed with, the company should relay the feedback to the staff member
concerned.
4.6 Review
People write an opinion when they use or encounter a product/service. An increasing
number of consumers are using the internet to find local businesses and see online reviews
almost every time they go online to do a local search.
Many local businesses have realized the importance of optimizing their online presence for
the local market. Consumers have easy access to a variety of devices to perform searches
on mobile gadgets, such as smartphones and tablets. This makes it easy for them to jump
online wherever they are and search for reviews about a business, product or service.
Data to collect:
A. Shares
B. Likes
C. Mentions
D. Followers
5.1 Shares
Social sharing describes when social media users broadcast web content on a social
network to their connections, groups, or specific individuals. One of the primary aims of
corporate social media marketing strategies to generate brand awareness by leveraging
their existing audience to share content.
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5.2 Likes
Instead of writing a comment or sharing a post, a user can click the Like button as a quick
way to show approval.
Attracting social media followers and increasing their exposure to a brand will ultimately
increase sales.
Many brands have discovered that customers who interact with them on social
media do spend more money than other customers.
5.3 Mentions
Whenever someone name-drops a person or brand online, that is a social mention. It can
be positive or negative. Every single one is an opportunity to engage with your audience
and shape public perception of your brand.
Social mentions represent actions and the amount of attention being paid to a topic
and are also a forecast of potential campaign success.
Responding to customers on social mentions increases the likelihood that they will
spend money on your products. It also increases how much they are willing to spend,
from anywhere between three to 20 percent.
When a customer receives a response from a brand, they are also much more likely to:
5.4 Followers
In a social media setting, a follower refers to a person who subscribes to your account
in order to receive your updates.
In social media, a follow represents a user who chooses to see all of another user's posts
in their content feed. Getting users to follow their accounts is a primary objective for online
businesses with a social media presence.
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UNIT 5: Evaluate Social Media Marketing
Strategy
We will consider different ways to measure the effectiveness of a social media campaign, ROI
measurement and KPI.
Consider the use cases of KPI metrics vs. ROI measurement in terms of reading a book. KPIs
tell you what happens after each chapter, whereas ROI tells you what happened after the
conclusion of the entire story. KPIs are a forward-looking predictor of end performance,
whereas ROI is used as a backward-looking informer of future budget allocation decisions.
For example, if the goal of a paid campaign on social is to increase brand awareness and
influence, ROI could be measured by growth in follower count or post-impressions.
The metrics used to quantify social media ROI for your own business should depend entirely
on your objectives.
Social media ROI is what you get back from all the time, effort, and resources you commit to
social. And it’s best calculated with dollar amounts.
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How to compute social media ROI%?
• Profit = Revenue – Investment the money we earned from our social media
marketing efforts
• Investment – the total cost of our social media marketing efforts
Example:
If we made $1,000 in revenue from social media on a $200 investment,
our profit is ($1000 - $200 = $800)
Remember: Profit = Revenue – Investment
Social likes are the hearts you get on Instagram posts, the likes you get from your TikTok
followers, the thumbs-ups you get on Facebook, and other similar formats across popular
social networks and social media platforms.
This metric is a strong indicator of your post’s rankings and performance in the algorithm, and
it can let you know if the type of content you are posting on your Facebook page or Instagram
account is connecting with your viewers in the right way.
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2) Followers
A follower is a user on social media who have subscribed to see your posts in their feed. Both
personal and business accounts can have followers. Your number of followers, or follower
count, is a key metric for seeing how your audience on social media is growing or shrinking
over time.
The number of followers on your social media profile reflects our company or brand's
popularity. A gain in the number of followers is a clear sign of whether the social media
campaign is successful.
Follows are distinct from likes and shares. Likes, retweets and shares indicate that people find
value in an individual post. A follow expresses interest in receiving constant updates. As such,
a follow indicates a higher level of engagement with the audience, giving it more value than
other engagement metrics. Engagement strategies and social media campaigns frequently
target follows as a primary measurement for success (after sales and revenue).
Companies establish their own KPIs. Then we combine these KPIs with other information
about how our various marketing efforts contribute to sales and leads, our bottom line, and
our return on investment (ROI). Together with this information, we will then be in a position to
make strategic business decisions about our marketing mix, regardless of the size of the
company.
1) Total Reach
2) Referral Traffic
3) Click Through Rate
1) Total Reach
The reach of our social media campaigns determines the total number of people we have
reached both within and outside of our audience. The more our audience reacts and engages
with our post, the better the online visibility.
Having a good reach and traffic to our business posts on social media is a clear indication that
our marketing campaign was on point. Google Analytics allows us to compare the reach and
traffic from different social media channels.
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2) Referral Traffic
Referral traffic is a method of reporting visits that came to your site from external sources.
Referral traffic is important for your website because it sends possible buyers to your website
from other sites that might have the same target group and people trust their recommendations
already.
Therefore, by checking the list of referrals you can better identify the interests of the customers
coming from those sites and what they are usually reading, optimize your content for them
and convert those visitors into customers!
3) Click-Through Rate
CTR is an important
factor, as it is closely
associated with direct
conversions. This helps
us determine whether our
marketing campaign is on
point.
Example: If 40 people view our Facebook stream in one day, and 4 of them click-through to
our primary site, the CTR is (4÷ 40×100) = 10 per cent.
Generally, a higher CTR means our marketing campaign is effective. Because the more clicks
we get, the more visitors are drawn to our website. CTR is considered one of the KPIs by a
majority of businesses. It is generally used in pay-per-click (PPC) advertising campaigns, a
link on a landing page etc.
Marketing objectives are a pivotal part of a marketing strategy. Without defined goals, a brand
will struggle with achieving its plans because it would not be clear on what it wants to do. A
straightforward plan is required to know what we hope to do and how we plan on doing it.
We will be far more likely to reach our goals when they are defined, outlined, and compiled
into a clear list of measurable marketing objectives.
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6.1a Sales Revenue
The primary way social media companies like Facebook and Twitter make money is through
selling advertising. But, social media platforms also make money off their users, too.
The average revenue per user (ARPU) is one of the most important metrics for large social
media companies like Facebook, Twitter, and TikTok. The ARPU is how much revenue a
company makes per user and is an important evaluation of how successful a business is,
especially with how much movement there is when it comes to the top social media sites.
Social media is comprised of different platforms, and when choosing the right social media
platform for their business, companies should start by learning the preferences of their client
base. Social media can be used intelligently only if the business is active on the same online
platform as its customers. It is a waste of time to engage on one social media platforms if your
clients are spending the majority of their time on another.
The sales transactions made on different platforms by different users can give companies a
good indication of which platforms their companies should be engaged in.
It is important to ensure your brand interacts on whichever platforms are most popular with
your audience, but it's equally critical you take the time to determine which platforms provide
the best ROI for your business. This information can help you determine where to invest in
paid advertising, as well as which channels you should use for lead generation.
However, social media usage can shift overnight. The platforms that provided marketers with
the highest ROI five years ago likely do not deliver the same results anymore. Conducting
research to find out where marketers saw the highest ROI on an annual basis is important.
Social media branding is about consistently using the right methods to engage with your target
audience on social media platforms. The aim or purpose is to boost brand awareness. By
leveraging the power of social media branding, you can build a robust network of fans who
are not only loyal to your brand but are also eager to buy from you.
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